Columbus State University Print Logo

Department of Counseling, Foundations, and Leadership

Department of Counseling, Foundations, and Leadership

EdD Dissertation Faculty

 

Name & Email Address

Chair

Methodologist

Committee Member

Research Interests

Parul Acharya

acharya_parul@columbusstate.edu

Quantitative

Mixed Methods

 X
  • Methodological Issues in Quantitative Research
  • Online Learning
  • Classroom Assessment
  • Program Evaluation
  • Psychometrics (Instrument or Scale Development)
  • Data Mining

Erinn Bentley

bentley_erinn@columbusstate.edu

 

 X  Qualitative  X
  • English Education
  • Writing Teacher Education
  • Young Adult Literature

Greg Blalock

blalock_gregory@columbusstate.edu

X   X
  • Special Education
  • Inclusive post-secondary education for students with developmental disabilities
  • Positive behavioral interventions and supports
  • Intellectual disabilities
  • Transition for students with developmental disabilities

Jennifer Brown

brown_jennifer2@columbusstate.edu

X

Quantitative

Mixed Methods

X
  • Retention of undergraduate students
  • Effective instructional methods
  • 9-12 Mathematics Education
  • Mathematical Anxiety
  • P-12 Special Education

Phil Bryant

bryant_phillip1@columbusstate.edu

    X
  • Servant Leadership
  • Human Resource Management

Jan Burcham

burcham_jan@columbusstate.edu

X   X
  • Early Childhood Education
  • Teacher Leadership
  • Curriculum
  • Teacher Development
  • Professional Development Schools
  • Project/Problem Based Learning

Tina Butcher

butcher_tina@columbusstate.edu

 X   X
  • Academic Advising
  • First-year Student Success and Retention
  • Retention, Progression, and Gradution
  • First-Generation Students
  • Academic Accreditation/SACSCOC

Jeff Conklin

conklin_jeffrey@columbusstate.edu

    X
  • Behavior disorders
  • Learning disabilities
  • Intellectual disabilities
  • Adaptive and assistive technology

Basil Conway

conway_basil@columbusstate.edu

 X  Quantitative  X
  • Math Education
  • Statistics
  • Statistics Education
  • Equity, Access, and Empowerment
  • Social Justice

Ryan Day

day_ryan@columbusstate.edu

 X   X
  •  Counseling

Michael Dentzau

dentzau_michael@columbusstate.edu

X  Qualitative X
  • Evaluating the impacts of out-of-school environmental education programs
  • Use of drawings as a tool for assessing learning about the environment
  • In-service and pre-service teacher self-efficacy for teaching science
  • Extending the learning beyond the informal visit

Houbin Fang

fang_houbin@columbusstate.edu

    X
  • K12 mathematics education
  • Technology education
  • Culture comparison

Toni Franklin

franklin_toni@columbusstate.edu

 X   X
  • Inclusion
  • Co-teaching
  • Post-secondary education for young adults with intellectual disabilities
  • Instructional strategies for students with high incidence disabilities

Dawn Frazier

frazier_andrea@columbusstate.edu

X

Quantitative

Qualitative

Mixed Methods

X
  • Cultural studies (e.g.,African American, women, critical pedagogy, culturally responsive pedagogy)
  • STEM education
  • Self-esteem, self-concept, academic self-concept, possible selves

Rick Gardiner

gardiner_richard@columbusstate.edu

X   X
  • Secondary Social Studies/History
  • Living History
  • Local History
  • Family History
  • Religious History

Chris Garretson *

garretson_christopher@columbusstate.edu

 X   X
  • Educational Leadership
  • School Improvement
  • School Climate

Kimberly Gill

gill_kimberly1@columbusstate.edu

    X
  • Conflict Resolution
  • Gender Studies
  • Public Administration
  • Public Law
  • Public Policy
  • Judicial Policy
  • Administrative Law

Debbie Gober

gober_deborah@columbusstate.edu

X   X
  • STEM teacher preparation programs
  • Mathematics Education
  • New teacher induction
  • Role of university faculty

Dee Greer

greer_deirdre@columbusstate.edu

X   X
  • Early Childhood Education
  • Motivation
  • Assessment
  • Project-Based Learning/Problem-Based Learning
  • Pre-Service Teacher Preparation/In-Service Teacher Development

Tugce Gul

gul_tugce@columbusstate.edu

 

Qualitative

Mixed Methods

X
  •  Teacher Leadership (includes mentorship)
  • Teacher professional development (including professional identity and vision development)
  • Teaching pedagogy (e.g., inquiry-based teaching, argumentation, conceptual change)
  • Pre-service teachers' professional development and stress management
  • Teacher preparation in virtual environment
  • Science/STEM teaching

Megan Hallissey

hallissey_megan@columbusstate.edu

    X
  • Middle Grades Education
  • Education Leadership
  • Early Childhood
  • Child/Adolescent Development

Anna Hart

hart_anna@columbusstate.edu

    X
  • Teacher Leadership
  • Early Childhood Education

Mary Beth Hendricks

hendricks_mary@columbusstate.edu

  X
  • Retention of special educators in the field
  • Successful inclusion of students with disabilities in the classroom

Susan Hrach

hrach_susan@columbusstate.edu

    X
  • European Renaissance literature
  • Experiential learning
  • Global learning

Rania Hodhod*

hodhod_rania@columbusstate.edu

    X
  • Computer Science Education
  • Educational Games
  • Computational Creativity
  • Intelligent Systems
  • Expert Systems

Brenda Ito

may_brenda@columbusstate.edu

    X
  •  Theatre Education

Wendi Jenkins

 jenkins_wendi@columbusstate.edu

 

 X    X
  • Higher Education
  • Servant Leadership
  • Secondary Education/English

Seon Jeon

jeon_kyongseon@columbusstate.edu

 

    X
  • Second Language Acquisition
  • Second Language Pragmatics
  • Cognitive Linguistics
  • ESL and Foreign Language Teacher Development
  • International Education and Cultural Sensitivity

Eli Jones

jones_eli@columbusstate.edu

   

Quantitative

Mixed Methods

  • Teacher Evaluation
  • K-12 Educational Interventions
  • Psychometrics (Reliability and validity of instruments, assessments and scales)
  • Rasch measurement (item response theory)
  • Special issues in educational measurement (e.g., invalid responders)

Troy Keller

keller_troy@columbusstate.edu

    X
  • Environmental Science
  • Statistics/Experimental Design

Shamim Khan

khan_shamin@columbusstate.edu

    X
  • Artificial Intelligence and its application in classification and prediction
  • Intelligent Decision Support Systems

Ann Klinkenborg

klinkenborg_ann@columbusstate.edu

 X  
  •  Physical Education

Japheth Koech*

koech_japheth@columbusstate.edu

 

    X
  • Optimized Human Learning and Performance
  • Instructional Design and Technology
  • Online Learning and Teaching
  • Redesigning Online Teaching Environments
  • Redesigning Creative, Innovative, Interactive, and Immersive Online Environments

Paulina Kuforiji

kuforiji_paulina@columbusstate.edu

X   X
  • Instructional technology
  • Enhancing student interaction in e-learning courses

John Lester

lester_john@columbusstate.edu

    X
  • Higher Education
  • Government Affairs
  • Communication

Dan Lomax

lomax_george@columbusstate.edu

  Qualitative X
  • Teacher Growth and Development
  • Curriculum and Instruction
  • Induction Teachers
  • Mentoring
  • Case Studies

Jennifer Lovelace

lovelace_jennifer@columbusstate.edu

    X
  • Doctoral Student Retention
  • Mentoring Doctoral Students
  • Training Doctoral Advisors in Advising and Mentoring
  • Promoting Higher Education as a Field of Study

Saoussan Maarouf

maarouf_saoussan@columbusstate.edu

X   X
  • Early Childhood Education
  • Assessment & Accreditation
  • Diversity in the Classrooms
  • Reading and Reading Assessment

Ellen Martin

martin_ellen@columbusstate.edu

 X    X
  • Physical Education
  • Teaching Elementary Physical Education

Keith Matthews

matthews_keith@columbusstate.edu

X   X
  • Music Education - Instrumental
  • Music Teaching and Learning
  • Student Teacher Supervision

Mark McCarthy

mccarthy_mark1@columbusstate.edu

    X
  • Literacy
  • Culturally Responsive Practices

Tom McCormack*

mccormack_thomas@columbusstate.edu

X   X
  • Educational Leadership
  • School Law

Kimberly McElveen

mcelveen_kimberly@columbusstate.edu

 X   X
  • Higher Education
  • Assessment/Accreditation
  • Leadership

Pat McHenry

mchenry_james@columbusstate.edu

    X
  • English Renaissance Literature
  • Higher Education

Heather McKeen

mckeen_heather@columbusstate.edu

X   X
  • Early Childhood Education
  • Technology Integration
  • STEM/STEAM Pedagogy

Jonathan Meyers

meyers_jonathan@columbusstate.edu

   
  • Chemistry
  • Biochemistry
  • Pharmaceuticals/Drug Design
  • Proteins/Peptides
  • Enzymes
  • Chemical Education

Stella Michael-Makri

michaelmakri_stella@columbusstate.edu

 X   X
  • Multicultural/diversity issues
  • Clinical supervision and ethics
  • Social justice
  • Parenting

Sallie Miller

miller_sallie@columbusstate.edu

X   X
  • Reading Education
  • Adult Education
  • Assessment & Accreditation

Brian Muse

muse_william@columbusstate.edu

  Quantitative    

Trish Patrick

patrick_patricia1@columbusstate.edu

X Qualitative X
  • Informal Science Education and Learning
  • Science education
  • Theoretical Frameworks
  • Mental Models
  • Sociocultural theory
  • Experiential learning theory

Deniz Peker

peker_deniz@columbusstate.edu

X   X
  • Science teacher education
  • Scientific inquiry and practices
  • Evolution education

Kalynn Pistorio

pistorio_kalynn@columbusstate.edu

  single subject design  X
  • Early Childhood
  • Special Education
  • Behavioral Interventions
  • Promoting Inclusion
  • Functional Skills
  • Intellectual Disabilities
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder

Amanda Rees

rees_amanda@columbusstate.edu

    X
  • Cultural Geography
  • American Studies
  • Faculty peer mentoring

Chip Reese

reese_aaron@columbusstate.edu

 X   X
  •  Student Affairs

Michael Richardson*

richardson_michael5@columbusstate.edu

 X    X
  •  Higher Education

Dutchie Riggsby

riggsby_dutchie@columbusstate.edu

    X
  • Middle Grades Education
  • Aerospace Education
  • Use of Technology in the Classroom

Lyn Riggsby-Gonzalez

riggsbygonzalez_lyn@columbusstate.edu

    X
  • Transitioning Students from College into the Workplace
  • Impact of Parent Involvement on Students' Career Readiness
  • Impact of Gen Z on Technology in the Classroom
  • Relationship between Emotional Intelligence, Job Preparation, and Career Success

Richard Rogers

rogers_richard1@columbusstate.edu

    X
  • Leadership
  • K-12 Education
  • Curriculum Theory
  • Qualitative Research

Victor Salazar

salazar_victor@columbusstate.edu

 X   X
  • Empathy & Perspective-taking
  • Multiculturalism
  • International Education
  • Social Studies & History Education
  • Educational Leadership

Gary Shouppe

shouppe_gary@columbusstate.edu

X   X
  •  Educational Leadership

Sri Sitharaman

sri@columbusstate.edu

    X
  •  Institutional Research

Doug Tompson

tompson_doug@columbusstate.edu

     X
  • Latin and Central America
  • Race and Race Relations

Sonny Waller*

waller_robert1@columbusstate.edu

 X    X
  • Educational Leadership
  • Finance
  • Law
  • Personnel

Jeanine Wert

wert_jeanine@columbusstate.edu

 X    X
  •  Adapted Physical Education

Margie Yates

yates_helen@columbusstate.edu

 X    X
  • Early Childhood Education
  • Curriculum and Instruction
  • Assessment
  • Higher Education

*Currently, this faculty member is unable to serve on additional committees.